East Tennessee Women Veterans file for 501c3 non-profit status

Jun 12, 2023

On June 12, 2023 several members of ETWN formed a foundation to raise money and support women veterans in the greater Knoxville area. ETWVN is a social and support group for local area women veterans and has existed since 2007 when it was first founded as part of a VA program aimed at bringing women veterans together. The VA ended the program in 2011 but the membership has carried on in a few different forms over the years. This instability is a main factor in the decision to file a non profit with bylaws listing the ETWVN as a program under its umbrella. East Tennessee Foundation for Women Veterans is currently “pending” its non-profit status with fiscal sponsorship by Veterans Heritage Site Foundation. VHSF has been hosting ETWVN as a committee since 2022 and as fiscal sponsor, it allows ETFWV to raise funds as a non profit and it’s treasury will manage the funds until 501c3 approval is gained.

The mission of East Tennessee Foundation for Women Veterans is to recognize, encourage, support and advocate for, and on behalf of, US Military Women Veterans living in the Greater Knoxville area; empowering them to live high-quality lives by providing tools, forums and resources allowing them to share experiences and information.  The Foundation shall serve US Women Veterans, as defined by the US Department of Veterans Affairs, who reside within the Greater Knoxville Area which shall be defined by this organization as the following counties in Tennessee: Anderson, Blount, Campbell, Claiborne, Cocke, Grainger, Hamblin, Jefferson, Knox, Loudon, Monroe, Morgan, Roane, Sevier, and Union. Other areas may be assisted, or new Counties added to this list as seen fit by the Board of Directors.

The board members of East Tennessee Foundation for Women Veterans are as follows:

Jessica Hodge, USMC – President
Pearl Rich, USMC – Vice President
Mary Foster, USAF – Secretary
Renee Hamilton, USAF – Treasurer
Marilyn Childress, USN – Public Affairs Officer
Lisa Snyder, USMC – Chaplin
Leslie Purser, US Army – Board Member
Norita Cruz, USN – Board Member
Jolene Anderson, US Army – Board Member